Recipes/Food

Happy Spring!

Dear followers,

First of, I want to apologize for being MIA for what? Half a year. Yeah that’s embarrassing. But good news, I’m back!  So for the first blog back I thought it was fitting to post about a refreshing drink because HELLO SPRING! Ah, I am so excited it is finally spring although here in MA it does not feel like it yet..

Anyway, here goes:
This weekend was St.Patricks Day and today is the first day of spring. So what better way to start of spring with a mojito. (Mocktail or with alcohol either way). I will write down both with and without alcohol and I recommend them both, so refreshing!

IMG_9912

Without alcohol: 

Handful of mint leaves
3 ounces lime juice
Lime
1 1/2 ounces sprite or sugar syrup (I used sprite)
2 ounces club soda/soda water
Ice cubes
Garnish with a slice of lemon and/or sprig of mint.

The first thing I did was add the mint leaves and the lime and crushed it so the flavor comes out more. Then I added the ice cubes, 3 ounces of lime juice, the sprite and club soda. I garnished it with a sprig of mint. In the picture there is a (Failed) rim of gold, for St.Patricks Day, I used gold sugar and actually honey works better to make it stick. Also, this would be your first step if you decided to add that touch.

Alcoholic Mojito: 

Handful of mint leaves
2 shots of light rum
3 tablespoons of fresh lime juice
Lime
Ice cubes
6 tablespoons of club soda
Garnish with lime slice and/or sprig of mint

First add the mint leaves and the lime slices, crush them with a mojito tool or a spoon if you don’t have one of those. Add the ice, than all your liquids. Now the recipe says 6 table spoons of club soda, but I honestly just poured club soda last and filled the glass so that is up to you.
Again I garnished the drink with a sprig of mint and did the gold rim.

Pretty simple right? So refreshing!
Go try it and let me know how it worked out in the comments! 🙂

/Stine

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

